Tags

,

Today 5000 riders are participating in the Ride to Conquer Cancer 2012. My better half is one of those riders, along with his best friend. They did the ride many years ago and things were very different – and there were only about 2600 riders!

I found a spot at the 20 km mark and took several hundred photos of riders. Although there were only 4 of us cheering the riders on at that spot, the appreciation of the riders to have supporters was genuine. I was thanked repeatedly just for standing by and applauding them. They were riding 200 kms or more over the weekend and they were thanking me. Unbelievable.

In honour of my parent’s fights with cancer, Tim put items on his bike – a knitted item from my mom and my dad’s trucker hat.

As I flipped through those hundreds of photos, I found other examples of tributes to loved ones. This rider’s was on his helmet. Too touching.

Thank you to all the riders!

 

