Tags

Friday was an interesting day. At many different moments, I paused and thought, I was not expecting to be here, doing this.

As I drove through the centre of Toronto, I was awe-struck by the beauty of the city. Before I moved here, a lifetime ago, I was terrified of the city. Over the 29 years since moving east, I have come to love and really appreciate the city. I never would have guessed that’s how I would one day feel.

I was driving through the city to drop my daughter off at a friend’s house. If you had told me 18 months ago that my daughter would be living in Vancouver and simply coming home for quick visits, I would have thought it possible, but I would never have dreamed that I would be okay with this change.

The other moment that struck me was in the afternoon when I was walking through the halls of the building that houses the lab my son works in. I walked by a door marked “Radioactive Material. No admittance.” Yup, could not have predicted that I would be walking halls with doors marked like that. Or helping my son collect ant colonies. Or, as I was that day, photographing ants.

Without a doubt, this midlife stuff (assuming midlife is what almost 50 is called) is full of unexpected moments and unplanned adventures. It is turning out to be true that life changes quickly at different times in your life and just when you thought things might slow down, they actually become more surprising.

When you realize how perfect everything is you will tilt back your head and laugh – Buddha

