Tags

,

Tell us about the role faith plays in your life – or doesn’t.

This past summer, hubby and I went to Utah for a week’s vacation – a lot of outdoor activities, relaxation and some visiting to some weird and wacky sites. The salt flats outside of Salt Lake City – not somewhere I ever need to return to, but glad I saw it all the same.

Of course, you need to acknowledge the Mormon Church and its impact on the Salt Lake area. I mean, Salt Lake equals Mormons to most people. That being said, we ventured into the city and found our way to Temple Square, a kind of Mormon mecca. Nothing could have prepared us for not only the incredible grouping of buildings but for the business that is the tour.

You start the tour in the visitor’s centre where two sisters introduce themselves and explain they are going to be your guides. It may seem harsh, but really, they reminded me of Stepford Wives. One barely said a word for the hour or more of the tour, while the other one continually peppered me with questions about my faith and our beliefs.

I am truly Canadian at times, and this was, for the most part, one of those times – I politely answered the sister’s questions. Truthfully, I learned a lot about my beliefs and my values although undoubtedly, her purpose was not to enlighten me to the fact that I do just fine without a defined God or religion in my life.

As we finished our tour, the talkative sister asked me how my life would be different if I knew that there was a prophet on earth. I politely explained that since I didn’t believe that there is a prophet, that it will not make any difference to my life. She then asked me if I believe in Jesus Christ. I took a breath, and trying my very best to be respectful of her beliefs, I asked her if she felt that Jesus believed in gay marriage.

It became very quiet – not just with our tour guides, but all around.

Our tour guide answered, well. That was all: well.

**************

My hubby feels that formalized faith will become more important as we age. I disagree. The only faith I rely on is a faith in our family unit and our approach to life.  Beyond that, it’s all about living in the moment.

 

