Tags

,

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

Really, only one??? On my photo blog, I often use a quote as the opening for the posts, so I have many favourite quotes.

Ubuntu – I am because we are. This is a quote I had engraved on a ring for my daughter. She had travelled to Kenya and this quote was used by someone important that she met there. I felt drawn to the quote because I definitely feel that being a parent is the best part of me and it is because of my children that I was able to discover that.

The following are Dr. Seuss quotes – just because.

Don’t cry because it’s over; smile because it happened. This is not actually a quote that moves me, but I come back to it over and over because I find myself at the end of something and I need a reminder to not regret it being over. 

How did it get so late so soon? It’s night before it’s afternoon. December is here before it’s June. My goodness how the time has flewn. How did it get late so soon? This relates to the one above – but more over it’s about how one has to live in the moment.

Definitely my favourite quote is one by A.A. Milne though:

“If ever there is tomorrow when we’re not together… there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart… I’ll always be with you.” When my children were young, I used to tell them, if they were scared or worried, that I was right there, on their shoulder, helping them be strong and brave. Then when they started to be away from me, I always said that they were in my heart so we are always together. As both my children are young adults, nothing has changed. They are always with me.

 

