Tags

,

Helplessness: that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that –- and what did you do about it?

Oh my. Without question, I’m living this now, it’s not a memory yet.

I work in a field where I am never truly the one at the reins – I work in special needs and it is the teacher who has the ultimate authority and responsibility for the students that I support. And yet, previously I have always felt that I was in the seat next to the person with the reins. A shared responsibility, a meeting of the minds.

This is the year, though, that I’m not even on the wagon train.

I’ve done many things to try to change the situation, but I have yet to meet with success. I show up and do what I can.

This story has not been fully written, but I’m sure it’s not going to have anywhere near a fairy tale ending.

