Tags

Courage is what it takes to stand up and speak; courage is also what it takes to sit down and listen. – Winston Churchill

I do not consider myself to be a courageous person – I hate scary movies, I don’t particularly love heights. I stand at the top of a ski hill and think of the easiest way down without ever pointing my skiis straight to the bottom.

I most certainly do not come close to showing the type of courage of people around the world who are fighting for their freedom, equality within their society or their right to live their lives as they wish. I am aware of how little true courage I have ever had to show.

This week, though, I learned about the importance of sitting down and listening. I was angry and fed up and at the end of my rope. Yet, someone told me to listen. It was hard, but in that moment I realized that the other person speaking was not only making me angrier; they were proving my point and I didn’t need to say a thing.

Give someone enough time and space and they will show their true self.

So, a process was followed and still nothing will change within that person. I fully understand and see that now, so everything has changed for me.

There are some people you can never change or impact; you can only change your reaction to them.

I get that. Breath. Repeat.

 

